Growing up in a Dysfunctional Family Article

Growing up in a dysfunctional family all I wanted is to prove that I am simply who I am. The family perception of me was their problem, not mine. Except that by fixating on it, I was making it my problem. The emotions we don’t or can’t process get stored in the body. They create limiting beliefs and feelings of unworthiness or unlovability. When we don’t feel whole, we seek approval outside ourselves. When we don’t get that approval, it hurts because it extends our limiting beliefs. Now that I turned 50, I’m no longer allowing someone else’s thoughts or judgments to define who I am. It’s something you can learn to do as well.

How I stopped the negative thoughts.  The first step is to become aware that your mind is validating a false belief. You’re hurt because, on some level, you believe this criticism. In my case, I was allowing someone else’s opinion about me to validate the idea that there was something fundamentally wrong with me, that I’m unlovable. What I had to do is shift my energy and acknowledging the fundamental truth that I am not broken or less than or unworthy. I am perfect exactly as I am right now no matter what that looks like. It is Incredibly liberating. You begin to realize that you aren’t a victim and that things that other people say about you don’t have to define you. Your mind no longer compulsively focuses on the stories, and when you feel that loop starting to form, you are empowered to walk past it and connect to your deeper truth.

Do you relate with anything I wrote?

Updated for continuing a story for a book I wish to write.

I was born in December of 1966 and five years later my real mother died. Do you know I actually have memories of her when she was alive? I have an older sister and a younger sister. My dad was a single father and also ran his family owned restaurant. I have many memories of going to the restaurant with dad. Throughout my life I was a tag-a-long child whom went to work with my dad.
Then my dad met this woman whom had three children making six children like the “Brady Bunch.” The difference is that when they married they also had another child making us seven children. We were brought up in a very strict, Irish, Catholic environment. Dad was a drinker but never violent or the fighting type. He just enjoyed his Manhattan’s and Beer. I found out later in life as I got older that my real mom was an alcoholic. My father blamed himself for leaving her alone to drink with three little girls as he ran the family business. My youngest sister has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. I guess that is why I always defended her and root for the underdog. I grew up with her being left out and not included in so many things because of her disability.
I, as well as my two sisters spent weekends at my grandma’s and grandpa’s house to visit so as to give my parents a much-needed break. My grandma never complained about anything she was very humble and prayed a lot. I loved to spend time at grandma’s house she taught me how to play rummy 500! Christmas time was very special.
I remember having to play outside until dinner after school. Watching one television that was black and white.
Any comments, thoughts, or observations?

TRUMP is the 45th PRESIDENT What he WILL DO in the first 100 Days in OFFICE…

 

First Day in Office

During the campaign, Trump frequently pointed to the tasks he wishes to accomplish on his first day in the Oval Office.

Laying out the aims of his administration, Trump said he will

 

“repeal and replace ‘Obamacare,’”

 

“immediately suspend the admission of Syrian refugees,”

 

“order a review of every single regulation issued over the last eight years,”

 

“begin lifting all regulations that are hurting our workers and our businesses,”

 

“terminate every single unconstitutional executive order signed by President Obama,”

 

“restore the rule of law to our land,”

 

“begin implementing plans for construction of a wall along our southern border”

 

and “get rid of” international gangs of thugs and drug cartels all on his first day.

OBAMACARE

Throughout his campaign, Trump has vowed to work to repeal and replace the president’s signature healthcare plan, saying it’s an item he will tackle on “day one” in the White House. In the final week of the campaign, Trump suggested he could convene a special session of Congress to repeal the Affordable Care Act, which has been the target of Republican ire for the past six years.

IMMIGRATION

Trump has pledged to undo the president’s executive actions memorandums and executive orders. The president’s immigration actions will likely be at the top of the last. The Republican wants to end programs like DACA, which has allowed for hundreds of thousands of undocumented immigrants to defer deportations and apply for work permits.

The president-elect has also promised to build a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border, triple the number of Immigration and Customs Enforcement officers and suspend immigration from countries with terrorism ties.

CLIMATE CHANGE/ENERGY REGULATIONS

In recent months, President Obama ramped up his efforts to fight climate change, but Trump, who once suggested climate change is a hoax created by the Chinese, plans to take aim at many of the president’s energy initiatives and regulations.

Trump says he would cancel the Paris Climate Agreement, which went into effect last week and aims to limit the rise of world temperatures to “well below” two degrees Celsius. He would also eliminate the Clean Power Plan, which aims to curb greenhouse gas emissions from power plants.

SUPREME COURT

Any chance to confirm Merrick Garland as a Supreme Court justice is thrown out the window. With a Republican coming to the White House, the Senate has further reason to pass on Garland and wait for Trump to name a nominee. The Trump camp has said he would swiftly name a conservative SCOTUS pick when he enters office.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell is committed to having the Senate consider Trump’s Supreme Court nominee, but any nominee would require 60 votes to be confirmed, meaning some Democrats would have to lend their support.